knit trio

Turtle
Yarn: KnitPicks shine sport in cherry, willow, and sand
Pattern: “Sheldon” from Knitty
Completed: December 2006

Penguin
Yarn: Patons wool
Pattern: “Pasha” from Knitty
Completed: December 2006

Cat
Yarn: Brown Sheep Lamb’s Pride worsted
Pattern: “Kate” from Knitty
Completed: circa 2005

These are three of my favorite patterns from Knitty. Everyone in my family knows that I need to stop knitting and crocheting toys due to lack of storage space, so I’ve started giving away FOs as presents–Sheldon the Turtle was made in Maryland colors (the KnitPicks cherry is more like a hot pink, though) and given away as a Christmas present for a friend at school. However, Pasha and Kate are still sitting on a shelf at home.

All three of these turned out better than I’d originally predicted; Sheldon is very, VERY tightly knit (it was finals week, after all) but the resulting tubbiness is kind of cute. Kate was also made on a smaller gauge (I think I used size 5 DPNs), plus I shortened the arms and fattened the neck a little bit. The penguin was perhaps the quickest of the three (one night over Christmas break) and while this is not a very flattering angle, it’s really a cute project. My only complaint is that I ended up with a pretty lumpy stomach on Pasha; I might try a tighter gauge and overstuffing next time.

