In anticipation for my parents’ birthdays (or Christmas, depending on how long all of this takes) I am making two mitered squares blankets out of Lion Brand Wool-Ease. Instead of using making the blankets “psychedelic”, though, I’m only using three (maybe four) colors for each; Dad’s is a sunflowerish theme (or a lion? Maybe that is more masculine) with LB Wool-Ease’s chestnut heather, avocado, and gold, and Mom’s theme is inspired by one of her necklaces that she likes: peacock (I hope this actually looks like turquoise), plus either oxford grey and camel or maybe blush heather or white thrown in there somehow. Depending on how far the Wool-Ease I have takes me, these might be full size cover-the-couch-or-bed deals or just lapghans. The squares knit up pretty quickly, so I don’t think I’ll have trouble doing two large-ish blankets; decreasing on every other row just makes me feel a strong sense of accomplishment somehow… :)

sunflower blanket squares

My only complaint is the chestnut heather color that I mistook for a deep brown when I first saw it. In the picture above it also looks kind of okay, but in reality it is almost a purplish-red-brown, especially next to the avocado; hopefully avocado-gold and chestnut heather-gold squares will not clash as much as these do. In the future, though, I’ll definitely go with chocolate brown instead.

I also started on the Central Park Hoodie (Interweave Knitscene fall 2006). My somewhat unreasonable fear of cables will be conquered! This is in a deep but wonderfully vivid green color of Cascade 220 superwash (an indulgence in yarn snobbery of sorts), further deepening my love for things I really cannot afford but luckily find on eBay.

central park hoodie back

Progress as of this morning. There are still awkward holes next to and behind the cable twists like all of the other cables I have tried to knit in the past, but I was pulling on stitches with a crochet hook and it might really just be a tension issue. Hopefully I can fix it while actually knitting, however, or else my patience will probably run out if I go up every row pulling on stitches to close holes. Other than that I’ve read the whole pattern and it doesn’t seem horrifying; the only other fear I have is the actual fit; more on this later.

