ribbed mini dress - first WIP shot

Yarn: Knit Picks Swish DK in Bordeaux
Needles: Size 4 Knit Picks Options

My most impressively complicated WIP so far… or not, haha. Who doesn’t love 14×2 ribbing for 30+ rows? Like a lot of these other projects the original photograph in the magazine is nothing fantastic, but this one (knitting anarchy via craftster) I really like. Actually, I like everything she’s made in this particular post… the equestrian blazer is another cool project from Interweave–some stiff yarn or not as much ease would be necessary because a fitted blazer like that would probably look a little odd when it’s on the lacy side/slumpy–and the (free pattern!) best friend cardigan gets cuter the more I look at it. Chunky yarn is simultaneously overrated and underrated in my mind; for example, you tell me whether you find the following intriguing or incredibly ridiculous:

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

Maybe it’s just me, but I’m tending towards the intrigue. Or maybe I’ve just been browsing through too many issues of VK. Sure, practicality is shot, but the irony is fun.

Seriously though, I think the best FO picture I’ve seen of the chunky best friend cardigan is from Another Shopgirl; scroll down a little to see the sweater worn with a belt. Good, yeah? It’s moving up on my mental list of things I want to make.

