So while I get a big kick out of being able to make sweaters, cardigans, dresses, etc., I’m taking a little break from them because there are other pressing matters at hand, namely:

entrelac for beginners

Yes, year after year, I AM that idiot who promises some relative something I made for Christmas, realizes that it’s only x number of days to the family gathering, and scramble like hell to get it done. Fortunately I’ve been able to do this with at least some success; unfortunately this year I promised something far huger than your typical scarf or mitten or hat… namely, two blankets.

To my credit I only promised lapghan sized things, but it’s one for each of my parents and DAMN it’s taking a long time. As someone on craftster pointed out, a talented gal like Eunny could probably knit a cozy to cover a house in a week (I’m paraphrasing, but I’m also in total agreement.) Alas, I am no speed knitter, but at least this year I’m starting two months–not two weeks–before the holiday. Fortunately entrelac is a good pick it up, finish one square, then put it right back down projects, so even though you’ve done very little–I’m doing 10 st wide blocks, so one block is only 200 st total–you get a visual sense of accomplishment because there is a nice little block sitting there that has eaten up another one of the base triangles.

So I think for a while it’ll be these blankets plus some little tiny side things, like that bath puff and something like a (partial) Fetching to alleviate entrelac stress:

cuff

