EDIT: Make that title “finishing these“… :)

moderne 2 complete

mom's moderne; first completed blanket

Pattern: Moderne baby blanket from Mason-Dixon Knitting
Yarn: Lion Brand Wool-Ease in cranberry, camel, chestnut heather, and fisherman’s white for the top blanket and the same yarn in peacock, seafoam, camel, and light heathered gray for the second
Dimensions: 48″ x 36″
Needles: Size 9 straights and circular for the border
For: Dad and Mom!

These were such huge projects for me because this is the first year I have ever made anything for anyone else, and not one but two projects of this size was pretty tough for my slow and accident-prone knitting self. However, nearly one month after Christmas (… sorry), the lap blankets are complete!

One minor modification was that I only knit 42 garter ridges for the bottom two rectangles for fear of running out of yarn; in the end I believe only two skeins of each color was required (don’t quote me on this, though) while still yielding a decent-sized lap-warming product.

So what’s in my post-garter stitch marathon future? Since I still have over a week of self-imposed apartment confinement/total isolation minus blogging left, I hope to finish two more gift knits (thank-you presents for a very nice family!) before the semester begins.

